Please Rotate Your Device 90
For the best experience, turn your mobile device portrait mode.
Skip to main content



Press Release
April 26, 2018

NBC owned stations in New York, Philadelphia, Dallas-Fort Worth, Washington, D.C., San Francisco Bay Area and Boston as well as Telemundo owned stations in Dallas-Fort Worth and McAllen Receive Total of 27 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards for Outstanding Work in Broadcast and Electronic Journalism

NEW YORK, NY – (April 26, 2018) – The NBC owned television stations in New York, Philadelphia, Dallas-Fort Worth, Washington, D.C., San Francisco Bay Area and Boston, and Telemundo owned stations in Dallas-Fort Worth and McAllen won a total of 27 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards. The awards were announced by Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) and honor the best electronic journalism produced by radio, television and digital news organizations around the country and world.

NBC 4 New York / WNBC was recognized with five awards including an accolade in the “Overall Excellence” category and “Breaking News Coverage” for WNBC’s “Brooklyn Train Derailment” coverage. NBC10 Philadelphia / WCAU also won five awards, including an award for “Excellence in Innovation” for its report “Preventing Suicide: Breaking the Silence.” NBC 5 Dallas Fort-Worth / KXAS won five awards, including “Overall Excellence” and an award in the “News Series” category for joint reporting efforts with Telemundo 39 / KXTX and The Dallas Morning News for “The Borderland Project”, while NBC4 Washington / WRC-TV took home four awards including an award in the “Breaking News” category for its coverage of “Congressional Baseball Shooting.” NBC Bay Area / KNTV took home three awards including an accolade in the “News Documentary” category for its investigative report “Kicked Out”, while Telemundo 40 / KTLM was recognized with four awards, including “Overall Excellence” an honor in “Investigative Reporting” for the station’s work on “Figures of a Crisis.” NECN and NBC10 in Boston were recognized with one award for “Excellence in Writing.” Additionally, WRC-TV, WCAU and KTLM all took home awards for “Best Website” in recognition of their outstanding digital platforms.

NBC 4 New York / WNBC

  • Overall Excellence
  • Breaking News Coverage for “Brooklyn Train Derailment”
  • Excellence in Sound for “Michael DelGiudice – the Art Above”
  • News Series for “State of Addiction”
  • Newscast for “Terror in Tribeca-News 4 at 11 – October 31, 2017”

NBC10 Philadelphia / WCAU

  • Continuing Coverage for “Philly’s DA Downfall”
  • Excellence in Innovation for “Preventing Suicide: Breaking the Silence”
  • Excellence in Social Media for “Preventing Suicide: Breaking the Silence”
  • News Documentary for “Preventing Suicide: Breaking the Silence”
  • Website for “”

NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth / KXAS

  • Overall Excellence
  • Excellence in Video for “West Heals”
  • Excellence in Writing for “Noelle’s Notes”
  • News Documentary for “Big Buses, Bigger Problems: The Land Deal”

NBC 5 Dallas-Fort Worth / KXAS and Telemundo 39 / KXTX

  • News Series for “The Borderland Project” for joint reporting efforts with The Dallas Morning News

NBC4 Washington / WRC–TV

  • Breaking News Coverage for “Congressional Baseball Shooting”
  • Excellence in Sound for “Hand it to Handly: Signed, Sealed and Delivered”
  • Investigative Reporting for “NEWS4 I-Team: Tracking Troubled Teachers”
  • Website for “”

NBC Bay Area / KNTV

  • Excellence in Social Media for “Wine Country Wildfires”
  • Hard News for “Unmasking Antifa”
  • News Documentary for “Kicked Out”

Telemundo 40 McAllen / KTLM

  • Overall Excellence
  • Investigative Reporting for “Figures of a Crisis”
  • Newcast for “Telemundo 40 News at 10:00pm”
  • Website for “”


  • Excellence in Writing for “Jack Thurston News Writing”

The regional winners are automatically advanced to the national Edward R. Murrow Awards competition, which will be judged in May 2018. The national awards will be announced in June 2018 and the awards will be presented at the RTDNA Edward R. Murrow Awards Gala at Gotham Hall in New York City on October 22, 2018.

RTDNA has recognized outstanding achievements in electronic journalism since 1971. This year, RTDNA awarded 785 regional Edward R. Murrow Awards in 16 categories, including Overall Excellence, Breaking News, Investigative Reporting, and Excellence in Innovation. RTDNA received nearly 4,400 entries during the 2018 awards season. For a complete and detailed list of all the 2018 regional Edward R. Murrow Award winners, please access the RTDNA website here.

About NBCUniversal Owned Television Stations
NBCUniversal Owned Television Stations is the division of NBCUniversal that includes 38 NBC and Telemundo local television stations serving 26 markets, a regional news network and their associated websites and digital platforms, as well as a group of out-of-home properties, a production company, an in-house marketing and promotions company and two national multicast networks, COZI TV and TeleXitos. The local stations, which can be viewed in 37 percent of U.S. homes and in Puerto Rico, produce and deliver their local communities compelling and unique local news, real-time weather forecasts, consumer and investigative reports and entertainment programming across all platforms to help keep their English and Spanish-speaking audiences informed anytime and anywhere.


Melissa Castro